Can a 16-year-old order his?
Yes, a 16-year-old can order their own birth certificate in California. For a passport application youll need what is called an authorized copy of your birth certificate in California, and the birth certification application form must be notarized. To meet the notarys requirement, you must either show the notary an acceptable ID, or take two people with you who have ID and will attest to the notary who you are. Nothing in the California regulations prohibits a notary from accepting the signature of a minor, provided it is clear the minor understands what they are signing. Optionally, any of the following can order an authorized copy for you (same notary requirement): The registrant (person listed on the certificate) or a parent or legal guardian of the registrant. A child, grandparent, grandchild, brother or sister, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant. A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order, or an attorney or a licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record in order to comply with the requirements of Section 3140 or 7603 of the California Family Code. A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business. (Companies representing a government agency must provide authorization from the government agency.) An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant's estate. Any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant's estate. (If you are requesting a Certified Copy under a power of attorney, please include a copy of the power of attorney with the application form.) For additional information, follow the process here: Vital Records | California Department of Public Health Note that you can often obtain a birth certificate in California from your county of birth faster than from the state.